Skip to Content

Skip to Navigation

Scholarships and Awards

Marilyn Rinker Leadership Scholarship for Nurses in an Advanced Degree Program

Due Date: TBD

Award Amount: $500


  • To promote graduate level nursing education in support of Vermont nursing leadership talent to meet the health care needs of our state through practice, policy and education.


  • To provide scholarship support for qualified individuals to participate in an approved course of study leading to an advanced degree.

Qualifications of applicants

  • Possession of Vermont RN license in good standing
  • A member of VONL
  • Demonstrated commitment to nursing leadership (Vermont preferred) as evidenced by participation in professional seminars, organizations, work accomplishments, project, recommendations of peers
  • Currently enrolled or accepted in an accredited program that will lead to an advanced degree in nursing
  • Willingness to commit to completing the program as indicated by realistic timeframe..
  • Individuals agree to practice in Vermont for at least two (2) years
  • GPA of 3 or B
  • Two supportive professional recommendations

Special Considerations

  • Individuals who have sought funding through employment or other resources, where available
  • Individuals with demonstrated financial need
  • Individuals currently working in the field of nursing education

Application Process

  1. Applicants must first be accepted into an accredited program that will lead to an advanced degree in nursing
  2. Eligibility criteria include: proof of academic excellence/promise, pledge to practice in Vermont following graduation, short essay, two (2) positive professional recommendations
  3. Vermont Organization of Nurse Leaders will select a candidate based on the following criteria, in order of importance:  academic excellence; commitment to Vermont; leadership/community service; financial need



VONL Award

This is a $500 award presented to one student graduating with a master of science in nursing at UVM and Norwich each year. Recipients have consistently demonstrated outstanding scholarship in the master’s programs and are nominated by professors at each college.